Latest News

City of Jasper Confirms $10.2 Million in Funding for City Pool Renovation Project Memorial Hospital “Hearty Hearts” Rehab Club Announces March Meeting Date Cedar Crest Intermediate Welcoming the Public for “2024 Eclipse at the Crest” Event “Friday Community Health Screening” Being Offered by Memorial Hospital in March The City of Jasper Announces Special Utility Board Meeting is to be Held in April

The candidates in the tied race for mayor of Jasper are still considering whether to seek a recount.

Of course ballot counting ended Tuesday night with Republican Mayor Terry Seitz and Democratic challenger Wayne Schuetter both receiving 1,856 votes. Independent candidate Josh Budd received 190 votes.

Now the candidates or party chairmen have until Nov. 20th to request a recount of the votes. Both Seitz and Schuetter say they have yet to decide wether or not to ask for a recount.

Dubois County Clerk Bridgette Jarboe says that if the certified results remain tied, the City Council would vote by December 31st on whether Seitz or Schuetter becomes mayor.

Otherwise, Jarboe in an email release Wednesday afternoon says results in all other municipal elections are final.

Democrats currently hold a 4-3 majority on the Jasper Common Council, while Republicans won a 4-3 majority in Tuesday’s election for terms that do not begin till January 1st.

Meanwhile Republicans maintained their slight edge over Democrats in the overall control of mayoral offices in Indiana’s cities.

Unofficial results reported to the state Election Division from Tuesday’s vote counts show Republican candidates for mayor winning 60 races, with Democrats winning 55. Independent candidates prevailed in five cities: Bedford, Delphi, Greendale, Mitchell and Southport.

While Republican won more mayoral offices, Democratic mayors will lead seven of the state’s 10 largest cities.

Former U.S. Attorney Joe Hogsett gave Democrats the biggest victory by taking the Indianapolis mayor’s office. He will replace Republican Mayor Greg Ballard, who didn’t seek re-election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *