Latest News

Fatal Daviess County Accident Leaves Daviess County Man Behind Bars JCA Holding Unveiling Reception for Two New Murals in Jasper Jasper Single-Vehicle Accident Causes $10,000 in Damages The Annual German-American Day Program and German Heritage Award Ceremony are Set for October 5th The Organic Dairy Marketing Assistance Program is Making a Second Payment to Dairy Producers

Four Troopers from the Jasper District of the Indiana State Police were honored Friday afternoon at an awards ceremony at the Indiana Government Center.

Troopers Michael Allen, Brock Werne, Stephen Sexton, and Jeremy Galloway were presented awards for their service to the State of Indiana.

Trooper Allen was awarded the Bronze Star and a Combat Action Award for his actions on September 4, 2015, in which he was involved in an officer-involved shooting in French Lick. Trooper Allen’s actions involved “personal bravery and self-sacrifice at a level clearly beyond expectations”.

Trooper Brock Werne was awarded a Lifesaving Award for his actions on June 15th of last year. While patrolling US 231 between Jasper and Huntingburg, Werne observed a man standing on a bridge. Werne, stopping to ask if the man needed assistance and learned that he was about to jump from the bridge in an attempt to commit suicide.

Werne talked to the man and calmed him down to the extent that he was able to get close enough, grab him, and pull him from the edge of the bridge. Werne was commended for his “extraordinary conduct in saving the life of a fellow human being.

Trooper Stephen Sexton was awarded as the 2015 Jasper District Trooper of the Year. This award was presented to Sexton for achieving outstanding enforcement efforts in the areas of traffic and criminal enforcement, case and crash investigations, public information programs and community service; and for exemplifying the professionalism and integrity expected of an Indiana State Trooper.

Finally the O.W.I. Award was presented to Trooper Galloway for his efforts in removing impaired and intoxicated motorists from Indiana’s roadways. Galloway was awarded for his efforts in the arrest of 49 impaired drivers last year. Galloway was honored as the top O.W.I. award in 2014 as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *