Latest News

Archabbey Library Gallery Presents Andrea Hoelscher Failure to Stop At Traffic Light Sends One to Jail for OWI Perry County Sheriff’s Office Attempting To Locate Wanted Subject Patoka 2000 Holding Annual Tree Blessing and Dedication this Friday USDA Partnering with FarmRaise to Offer New Education Tools and Resources

Newly elected and re-elected Dubois County officials took their respective oaths of office during a swearing-in ceremony Thursday afternoon in the council chambers of Jasper City Hall.

New officials sworn in yesterday include republicans Nick Hostetter and Chad Blessinger as county commissioners. Hostetter will be moving over to the commissioners from the Dubois County Council while Blessinger wraps a two term stint as Dubois County Treasurer.

Meanwhile Republicans Michael Kluesner, Sonya Haas and Doug Uebelhor will join the county council as new members. Uebelhor is a former county commissioner. And former Madison Township Trustee and republican Kitty Merkley will be the new county treasurer.

All were part of an historical republican sweep of contested county races in Dubois County during the November 8th general election.

Dubois County Republican Party Chairman Don Hayes says one of the contributing factors to his party’s local success is the republican momentum that seemed to trickled down all the way from the national level….


Now on top of the Trump factor and the success it brought to the state and local GOP, Hayes says the slate of candidates this past election was a solid bunch….

Three incumbent officials were sworn in Thursday as well. They Include Republican Superior Court Judge Mark McConnell, Republican County Surveyor Kenny Brosmer and County Coroner Bob Veatch, a democrat. All three were unopposed in November.

All officials were sworn in by McConnell and Circuit Court Judge Nathan Verkamp.

The new terms of each official will begin on Sunday January 1st.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *