Latest News

Jasper Chamber Announces Two Ribbon Cuttings Slated for Tuesday Applications Now Open for Dubois Strong Executive Director Position Indiana Department of Natural Resources Conducting Accessibility Survey for its Properties Double Feature Performance of Jonathan & Abigail Peyton and Philip Bowen Coming to the Astra Stage Southeast Dubois County School Corporation Back-to-School Events Announced


Jasper Mayor Terry Seitz announced his list of appointments Monday to lead city departments for 2016.

All appointees will serve their respective departments effective now and will continue to serve until December 31st, 2019.

Mike Bennett will continue to serve as Chief of Police for the City of Jasper with Nathan Schmitt Assistant Chief.

Darla Blazey will once again serve as Director of Community Development & Planning.

Ken Buck is the Director of the Park & Recreation Department.

Jeff Theising is Jasper’s new Street Commissioner with Scott Eckerle as his assistant.

Bud Hauersperger will once again lead the city’s Utilities Department.

Ernie Hinkle, Water and Gas Manager.

Kenny Hochgesang, Fire Chief & Code Enforcement Officer.

Ed Hollinden, Wastewater Manager.

Chad Hurm, City Engineer & Stormwater Manager

Renee Kabrick, City Attorney

Cale Knies, Personnel/Safety and Loss Control Director

Kit Miracle, Arts Director

and Jerry Schitter will once again serve as the city’s Electric Distribution Manager.

Seitz announced his appointments to various city boards and commissions as well.


Also Monday morning the Jasper Common Council gathered for their annual reorganization meeting.

New faces joining the council this year include Republicans Dean Vonderheide, Nancy Eckerle and John Bell along with Democrat Dave Hurst. They will work alsongside republican Kevin Manley and democrats Greg Schnarr and Earl Schmitt.

During yesterday’s gathering the council elected Kevin Manley as the council pro-tempore who is an appointment made annually of a council member to lead a meeting in the absence of the mayor.

Manley was selected by a 4 to 3 vote as this year’s appointee.

He was nominated for the position by Democrat Councilman Dave Hurst but Republican Dean Vonderheide objected wishing to nominate fellow  Republican Nancy Eckerle instead.

The initial nomination of Manley was made and seconded.  Again, Manley was eventually elected by the 4-3 count to serve the position formerly held by retired councilman Tom Schmidt.

Leave a Reply