Latest News

Warrick County Health Department Investigation Leads to an Additional Arrest Man Arrested After Single-Vehicle Crash Early Friday Morning Jasper City Hall, Street Department, and Utilities Administrative Offices Closed on July 4th for Independence Day Domestic Incident Leads to Shooting in Dubois County: Suspect Located, Victim Stable Red Cross to Host Blood Drive at Crawford County 4-H Fair

More than 30 public art projects across the state funded by the Indiana Destination Development Corporation’s (IDDC) IN Indiana Public Art and Placemaking Grants were recently completed by local organizations.

“These projects help showcase Indiana’s diversity, charm and character,” said Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch, Indiana’s Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development. “Incorporating traditions, values and the unique wonders within each corner of the Hoosier state pays profound homage to Indiana’s rich history and brings it to life in the form of a work of art.”

The IDDC Public Art Activation Grant funds Indiana-specific public artwork throughout the state of Indiana. Public artwork created in partnership with artists features the IN Indiana campaign. The non-matching grant funded public art projects up to $10,000.

The IN Indiana Placemaking Activation Grant gives communities the unique opportunity to create IN Indiana artwork and signage in highly-visible locations throughout the state. This is a matching grant of up to $25,000 to fund signage and placemaking efforts.

In 2024, IDDC has allocated funds for the IN Indiana Placemaking Activation Grant and the Indiana Destination Development Grant, with applications due on Feb. 2, 2024. Learn more at

The following organizations have completed public art projects funded by IDDC:

  • 95 Bravo, LLC located at 110 S Main St. in Otterbein – Artist: Ronald Walters;
  • Arts Council of Indianapolis located at 435 Massachusetts Ave. in Indianapolis – Artist: Elio Mercado;
  • City of Crown Point located at 183 S West St. in Crown Point – Artist: Lewis Lain;
  • City of Kokomo located at 215 W Superior St. in Kokomo – Artist: Kokomo Area Career Center;
  • City of Lawrenceburg located at 35 E High Street in Lawrenceburg – Artist: Christian Dallas;
  • City of Portland located at 118 S Meridian St. in Portland – Artist: Zach Medler;
  • City of Westfield located at 17501 Dartown Road in Westfield – Artist: Saunt’e Lewis;
  • Community Foundation of Grant County located at 326 South Washington St. in Marion – Artist: Tashema Davis;
  • Destination Huntingburg located at 401 4th St. in Huntingburg – Artist: Elizabeth Wertman;
  • Discover Downtown Washington located at 107 E Main St. in Washington – Artist: Barb Stahl;
  • Greater Terre Haute Chamber of Commerce Foundation located at 683 Wabash Ave. in Terre Haute – Artist: Shayla Fish;
  • Heritage Mall, LLC located at 41 S Van Buren St. in Nashville – Artist: Kurt Eagleman;
  • Historic Warren Inc. located at 201 N Wayne St. in Warren – Artist: Nancy Carroll Wagner;
  • Kirklin Main Street located at 110 S Main St. in Kirklin – Artist: Daniel Mann;
  • Kosciusko County CVB located at 111 Capital Dr. in Warsaw – Artist: Erica Deuel;
  • LaGrange County IN, CVB located at 370 S Van Buren St. in Shipshewana – Artist: Christy Miller;
  • Lake Maxinkuckee Environmental Fund located at 116 N. Main St. in Culver – Artist: Shannon Wilson;
  • LHPYC Inc., LLC located at 11042 State Road 56 in Aurora – Artist: Andrea Grimsley;
  • Main Street Corydon located at 206 E. Chestnut St. in Corydon – Artist: Carrie Johns;
  • Main Street Jasper located at the Alley on the corner of the Courthouse Square on Main Street in Jasper – Artist: Blondebrush;
  • Muncie Arts and Culture Council located at 210 S Walnut St. in Muncie – Artist: Multiple;
  • Our Town Cicero Main Street Association located at 99 W Jackson St. in Cicero – Artist: Abigail Staffelbach;
  • Owen County Community Foundation, Inc. located at 114 E Franklin St. in Spencer – Artist: Israel Hogan;
  • Pet Elves, Inc. located at 169 E Jefferson St. in Franklin – Artist: Greg Potter;
  • Pike County Public Library located at 105 Center St. in Winslow – Artist: Jason Martin;
  • Sheldon Swope Art Museum located at 25 S 7th St. in Terre Haute – Artist: James Shepard;
  • Shipshewana Auction, Inc. located at 345 S Van Buren St. in Shipshewana – Artist: Amy Psinas;
  • Shipshewana Retail Merchants Association located at 240 N Morton St. in Shipshewana – Artist: Cassandra Graber;
  • Studio Lauren Zoll located at 707 N Senate Ave. in Indianapolis – Artist Studio Lauren Zoll and Zesco;
  • Town of Cedar Lake located at 7408 Constitution Ave. in Cedar Lake – Artist Mark Barnhart;
  • Town of Mount Ayr located at Jackson St. and W Marion St. in Mount Ayr – Artist: Trenton Musch;
  • Valparaiso Creative Council located at 150 Washington St. in Valparaiso – Artist: Alexandra Allen;
  • Wayne County Convention & Tourism Bureau, Inc. located at 221 W Main St. in Cambridge City – Artist: Pamela Bliss.

“Seeing these wonderful projects completed is such a joy,” said Elaine Bedel, IDDC Secretary and CEO. “Each organization, location and community we collaborated with has a unique story to tell, and what better way to tell that story than by bringing it to life for visitors and residents to experience as a work of art.”

Projects were selected based on location and visibility to Indiana residents and visitors, with preference given to locations in high-view areas and places that create potential photo opportunities.

To view all the final murals, go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *