Latest News

Assisting With Disabled Vehicle Leads To Operating While Impaired & Resisting Arrest 2024 Spencer County 4-H Fair Schedule and Highlights Road Closure Announced Near St. Anthony Jasper Named in “7 Cutest Small Towns in Indiana to Visit in 2024” by WorldAtlas “Tech Tasting Experience” to be Held by Matrix Integration Thyen-Clark Cultural Center


The Jasper Rotary Club hosted the 5th Annual Dubois County Athena Award Ceremony Thursday night at the Huntingburg Event Center.

20160818_201545Former Huntingburg Mayor Connie Nass was selected as this year’s recipient.

ATHENA event chairperson, Tonya Heim, says last night’s event was the most attended out of the previous four events with over 300 people in attendance as well as more sponsors.

This year’s Keynote Speaker was Jasper native Jill Ackerman-Jones, President of Global Travel Retail at Brown-Forman. Jones provided each honoree with a custom made gift basket.

Heim says 100 percent of the net proceeds from the event will go to charity, where a portion goes to the recipients charity of choice. This year’s ATHENA recipient chose the Huntingburg Teen Outback as the charity chosen which funds will be given in her name.

The other portion of the proceeds will go to the signature charity of the Rotary Club which this year is TRI-CAP with the rest going to Rotary International which is used for polo-eradication and other global issues.

Heim shares her experience as a leader throughout the work she has achieved and the experience she has gained with the support of others.


Connie Nass is a local business owner. She serves as Vice President of Nass & Sons, Inc. of Huntingburg, She served two terms as Mayor of Huntingburg and was a member of the Huntingburg City Council.

She was the 1st woman elected to public office in Dubois County.

Nass describes the significance on being honored with the award and it’s recognition.

Nass also has served on numerous Boards including the Dubois County Step Ahead, the Substance Abuse Task Force, the Huntingburg Youth Board.

She was an Indiana State Auditor, served as Chairperson of the Lincoln Bicentennial in 2006, and served on the Advisory Boards of the American Public Power Association representing 5 States.

Other distinctive awards she has received include the Golden Leaf Award from the Huntingburg Chamber of Commerce given to Connie and her husband Alan Nass in 2013 and she was given the Sagamore of the Wabash Award appointed by former Governor Mitch Daniels in 2006.

Nass elaborates on leadership and provides advice to current and future generations of women and men alike who are striving to make a difference.

Nass says she is passionate about supporting the Teen Outback program as it serves as a positive social outlet and encourages academic growth for the youth.

She says during the time she traveled throughout the state she observed different spaces for youth to come together and says the Teen Outback is an exemplary program that hold a well-rounded presence in the community.

The other 2016 ATHENA honorees included Elaine Brames, Brenda Buehler, Jessica DeLorenzo, Betty Jenkins, Vickie Lewis, and Dr. Tracy Lorey.
Past ATHENA recipients include: Jane Chappell, Brenda Stallings, Kathy Tretter, and Nancy Eckerle.

German American, Kimball Electronics, and Memorial Hospital & Health Care Center are the platinum sponsors of this year’s event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *