Latest News

Nature Conservancy Secures 1700 Patoka-Adjacent Acres Additional Leadership PositionsAnnounced by JASPER® Fertility Care Program New leader for State’s Agriculture Economic Development Division Norma Imogene Kiesler

Today is Primary Election Day. Cities and towns around the state are holding primary elections today. Not sure of an election in your precinct, district and/or town? Hoosiers can go to to look up which candidates will be on their ballot. Voters will be required to enter their county of residence, name, and date of birth to access their personal information. Voters can also find information on their polling location and election night results. Hoosiers may also call the toll free Hoosier Voter Hotline at 866-IN-1-VOTE to speak directly to a representative for information, polling locations and to file grievances. Staff will be on hand to answer calls from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. EDT on Election Day. Voters may also visit for additional information, including information regarding Indiana’s photo ID law. Indiana’s photo ID law requires every voter to present a government-issued ID before casting their vote at the polls.

In Dubois County, there are only three contested races; two Republican races in two districts in Jasper and one democrat race at-large in Ferdinand. Today is the primary, in which you choose to vote either republican or democrat to set the stage for the general election this coming November. In Jasper voters in District 3 will choose between Chad Lueken and Merrill Ostermann and in District 6 voters choose between Kevin Manley, the incumbent, and Ryan Schuetter. Those seats are on the Republican ballot. There are no contested races in the primary on the Democrat ticket or the other Republican tickets in Jasper. Nor are there contested primary races in Huntingburg and as such no polling place open in Patoka townships. There is however a contested race for the Democrat slot in Ferdinand for the at-large town council seat as incumbent Ron Weyer is challenged by Steve Pancake. In Jasper the polling places that will be taking votes for District 3 and for District 6 are the Jasper Arts Center for voters in Bainbridge 1.1, 4 North and 4 South; The National Guard Armory for voters in Bainbridge 2 East, 2 West, 3 East and 3 West; Jasper Middle School for voters in Bainbridge 5 North, 5 South, 6 North and 6 South along with Boone-Jasper; and finally in Jasper…St Mary’s Community Center in Ireland for Madison-Jasper North and Madison-Jasper South. In Ferdinand, the polling place is located at the Ferdinand Community Center for Ferdinand 1 and Ferdinand 2.

In Spencer County, there are two races, both on the Republican side of the ticket. First, in Santa Claus votes in the Clay 2 precinct vote for 3 of four candidates for Santa Claus Town Council; John Bowen, Kevin “Kent” Burke, Brian Warran and/or Seth Windell. In Rockport precincts, will chose between Cathy Vaugh Kirkpatrick and Susie Wetzel Roberts for Clerk-Treasurer.

In Martin County, there are two contested races, both on the Democrat side of the ticket. First, in Loogootee Mayoral Race, current Loogootee Mayor Noel Harty is being challenged by current City Council at Large Councilman, Roger Downey. For City Council District 4, Donald Norris is challenging current councilman Collin Padgett. Norris is retiring from the Loogootee Police Department.

Join 100.9 FM WBDC tonight for our election results starting at 6 pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *