Latest News

‘Click It or Ticket’ Seat Belt Enforcement Campaign Launching Statewide on Monday USDA Food and Nutrition Service Announces $26 Million in Grants Toward School Meal Programs Indiana April 2024 Unemployment Rates Announced by Department of Workforce Development Dubois County Highway Department Flooded Roads List Boil Advisory for the Town of Birdseye has been Lifted


The 2015 municipal elections for Spencer County are now in the books and the city of Rockport will have a new leader come January 1st.

Incumbent republican mayor Harold Goffinet lost his bid for re-election as he was narrowly defeated by Democratic challenger Gay Ann Harney.

Harney won the Mayor’s office Tuesday by a count of 286 to 272 votes a difference of just 51 to 49 percent.

Harney says now that the election is behind her, she’s has number of ideas in store for the city.

In other contested races yesterday, all five seats for the Rockport City Council turned out to be close shaves so to speak.

Roxie Decker defeated Donnie Winkler by just two votes 278 to 276 for the at-large seat on the council.

It was also a close call for City Council Ward 1 as Bob Mack topped Josie Duke 51 to 49 percent.

In Ward 2 Ferman Yearby knocked off Michael Schulte 51 to 49 percent.

It was Donna Lashley over Terry Cronin 53 to 47 percent in Ward 3.

And Finally for Ward 4 Connie Hargis just sweeked by Greg Sitzman by a slim margin of just 50.37 to 49.63 percent.

Clerk-Treasurer Susie Wetzel Robert was un-opposed.


In Santa Claus Kelly Greulich defeated Toni Little for the clerk-treasurers job 76 to 14 percent.

John Bowen, Kent Burke, and Seth Windell were all elected to the Santa Claus Town Council.


For the Dale Town Council it was Kenneth Beasley Jr, Donnie Wertman, Rick Hile, Alice Pund and Ray

Striegel all chosen to serve the group of five.


And Matt Conen, Gary Griepenstroh, Tonya O’Nan, George Schwoepper and Jennie Weatherholt were chosen to be a part of the Grandview town council.

26.3 Percent of all registered voters participated in the Spencer County Municipal Elections.


Contested Municipal races in Perry County Tuesday found Republican Jim Adams slipping past Democrat Tony Hollinden for the office of Mayor in Tell City by  just 16 votes 986 to 970.

For City Council at-large Kevin Dauby defeated Paul Alvey 56 to 44 percent.

Julie Konnert topped Brad Franzman for council district 2  56 to 43 percent.

Sean Risse knocked off Jim Adkins in the District 3 council race 62 to 38 percent.

And Gary Morton captured the the district 4 seat defeating Amanda Tinch by a percentage of 62 to 38 as well.


And in Cannelton,  Mary Freeman Snyder won the Mayor’s office over Michael Anderson 62 to 38 percent.

For City Council District 2 it was Jack Harris over Andy Rager 63 to 47 percent.

Ralph Dixon defeated Dennis Bolin Sr. 58 to 42 percent in District 3,

And for the Cannelton City Council District 4 seat it was Vince Gagliardi over Emory Yaggi 53 to 47 percent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *