Latest News

18 WJTS Newscast for May 29th, 2024 Optimist Club of Jasper Honors Detective Sergeant Greg Brescher with Outstanding Law Enforcement Award Multiple Summer Arts Workshops Announced by Jasper Community Arts Memorial Hospital and Health Care Center Hosts “Friday Community Health Screening” on June 28 Tell City Farmers Market Opening This Saturday

Well the 2015 municipal elections are now upon us and voters in three Dubois County communities have some choices to make.

Of course the polls opened this morning at 6 o’clock and will close at 6 pm for those who did not take advantage of early voting opportunities but still wish to cast their ballots. Voters taking part in today’s elections could truly make a difference on the municipal landscape around the county.

This year’s choices will be for the office of mayor in both Jasper and Huntingburg. Also up for grabs are seats on the Jasper and Huntingburg city councils and the Ferdinand town council.

In Jasper, Republican First Term Incumbent Mayor Terry Seitz is challenged by Democrat Wayne Schuetter and Independent Joshua Budd.

Voters will also select two at-large council members from four candidates. Incumbent Democrat Randy Buchta, Democrat Alex Emmons, Republican Nancy Eckerle, and Republican Dean Vonderheide. A second at-large member of the Jasper Council, Ray Howard decided not to seek another term.

The race for District 3 will pit Democrat Adam Auffart versus Republican John Bell. One of the two will replace Dave Prechtel who also will not seek another term.

Republican Brittany Brockman will square off against Democratic Dave Hurst for the District 4 seat which has been held by Tom Schmidt who decided to step down after 40 years on the council.

Clerk-treasurer Juanita Boehm, councilmen Greg Schnarr, Earl Schmitt and Kevin Manley are all running unopposed.


Incumbent Republican Mayor Denny Spinner who will be completing his first term in office this year is being challenged by Democrat and former police chief Ron Drew.

The at-large race includes Republican Vickie Lewis and Independent Tim Wehr.

In District 3, incumbent Republican Councilman Steve McPherron is being challenged by Democrat Tina Dearing.

Glen Kissling, Jeff Bounds, Kerry Blessinger are all running unopposed for the council as is incumbent Tom Dippel for clerk-treasurer.


There is only one seat on the town council being contested as incumbent town council president Ken Sicard looks to hold off a challenge by Independent Don Farina.

Current council members Debbie Johnson, Ron Weyer and Clerk-Treasurer Bev Schulthise are running unopposed.


Voting locations across the county include:

The Indiana National Guard in Jasper which will house Bainbridge 2E, 2W, 3E and 3W.

The Jasper Community Arts Center for Bainbridge , 4N, and 4S.

Jasper Middle School for Bainbridge 5N, 5W, 6N and 6S on the city’s northside.

Madison-Jasper N and S at St. Mary’s Church Community Center in Ireland.

Voters in Ferdinand precincts 1 and 2 can go to the Ferdinand Community Center while Patoka 1, 2, 3 and 4 may cast their vote at the Huntingburg Event Center.

If you have any voting questions call the Dubois County Clerk’s office at 812-481-7035.

Once again the polls close at 6 o’clock tonight.

And when they do be sure to tune in to hear today’s election results right here on 101 Country WBDC as well as our television partner 18-WJTS.

Our coverage begins after the polls close at 6 pm.


The 2015 November Municipal election is now upon is and voters in Spencer County will decide the makeup of several city and town races across the County.

Contested races will be held in Rockport, Dale and Santa Claus.

In Dale, seven candidates are seeking five seats on the town council board. They include:

Republican Donald Wertman,

Democrat Ray Striegel,

Republican Kenneth Beasley Jr.

Democrat Rick Hile,

Republican Aaron Fuller,

Republican Deloss Painter,

and Democrat Alice J. Pund,

For Clerk-Treasurer

Democrat Cindy Morrison is running unopposed

Six candidates, all independent, are running for the five seats on the Grandview Town Council.

They include,

Robert Burrows,

Matthew Conen,

Gary Griepenstroh,

Tonya OíNan,

George Schwoeppe,

and Virginia Weatherholt,

The top five vote getters will win four-year terms. In the race for town clerk-treasurer, Donna Burrows is running unopposed.

There are no elections taking place in Chrisney, Richland, and Gentryville.

Of course polls opened at 6 am this morning and will close at 6 pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *